Skip to Main Content
Ask Us: Chat, email, visit or call
The library offers a range of helpful services. All of our appointments are free of charge and confidential.
What are images?
- An image is a picture that is recorded or created and stored physically or digitally.
- Digital images have various formats (.jpeg, .png, .gif, .bmp, .tiff, to name a few).
Why do I need images?
- As a multimedia format, an image can provide support for your arguments.
- As well, in the case of presentations, an image can encourage other’s interest in your research.
How do I find images?
- Consider using one of the search tools listed below
- Visit the websites of relevant art galleries and museums, which often also have searchable online collections
- Search using a variety of keywords, including synonyms and related terms (e.g. dog, hound, terrier, animal, animals)
Thousands of images related to art, art history, and classics.
Subject Timeframe: All Eras
Oxford Art Online
Thousands of searchable images.
Technical Information: Limited to 8 users at one time.
Dates of Coverage: 1996 - Current
Contains millions of professional images available for educational use in academic papers, projects, and presentations.
Dates of Coverage: 2003 - Current
Search by commercial, educational, or private use. Some images, audio and video files are licensed to be altered to new works.
Flickr Creative Commons
Search for images. Make sure to check what license they are providing.
Includes still images, videos and sounds.
A-Z Databases: Images
A longer list of University of Guelph databases that can be searched for images.
What else should I consider when searching for images?
- When you are looking at free online collections of images, check for the following information: Copyright Information, License Statement, Terms and Conditions, Permissions.
- Some sites give permission for their images to be used for educational purposes, while others require that you contact the image owner for permission.
- Creative Commons gives people many options to determine what type of permission they want to provide. Check the license for details about how you can use the image.
- Don’t forget to cite your image (see guide linked below)
Resources to help with creating multimedia