Skip to Main Content

HIST 4250 - Global Histories of Climate Change

Search the library

Find background information

Encyclopedia of the Anthropocene
Five volumes cataloguing the impact of humanity’s global ecological footprint. Covers aspects related to climate change, biodiversity, contaminants, geology, energy and ethics.

Find secondary sources

Historical Abstracts
Indexes the worldwide literature (excluding the United States and Canada) for history from 1450 to the present. Includes journals, books and dissertations.
Subject Matter Timeframe: 1450 - Current
Dates of Coverage: 1955 - Current
America: History and Life
The major index to the history literature of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
Subject Matter Timeframe: 19th Century- Current
Dates of Coverage: 1954 - Current
GreenFILE
Indexes scholarly, government and popular literature for all aspects of human impact on the environment, including global warming, pollution, and sustainable agriculture.
Dates of Coverage: 1920 - Current
Environmental Science Database
Supporting research and learning in environmental science and related fields. Cross-disciplinary content includes engineering, biotechnology, and bacteriology.

Find primary sources

Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) Library
The IPCC's official library of reports, supporting material, and other documents related to its work. Online material available dating back to the mid-1990s.
"Find Newspapers" guide
A guide containing links to dozens of online historical newspaper collections from Canada, the US, and elsewhere. Navigate by nation using the tabs on the left.

Resources to help with research and writing

Suggest an edit to this guide

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.