Skip to Main Content
Ask Us: Chat, email, visit or call
Video: Understanding and Avoiding Plagiarism: From Passage to Paraphrase
The library offers a range of helpful services. All of our appointments are free of charge and confidential.
Find background information
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
Limited to 10 users at one time.
Biographies of women and men who have shaped British history and culture, worldwide, from the Romans to the 21st century.
Subject Timeframe: Roman Times - 21st Century
Bibliography of British and Irish History
Contains bibliographic data on historical writing dealing with the British Isles, and with the British Empire and Commonwealth, from 55BC to the present.
Subject Matter Timeframe: 55BC - Current
Dates of Coverage: 1900 - Current
International Medieval Bibliography (IMB)
Identify scholarly sources on subjects between the years 300 and 1500.
Dates of Coverage: 1967 - Current
Subject Matter Timeframe: 400 - 1500
Indexes the worldwide literature (excluding the United States and Canada) for history from 1450 to the present. Includes journals, books and dissertations. Access Restricted to Six Users at a Time.
Subject Matter Timeframe: 1450 - Current
Dates of Coverage: 1955 - Current
Citations of books, journal articles, essays and book reviews on topics relating to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700), written from 1784 onwards. No full text.
Subject Matter Timeframe: 400 - 1700
Dates of Coverage: 1784 - Current
Find primary sources
British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries
Contains published letters and diaries from 1500-1950, as well as associated journal articles, pamphlets, books, and other materials.
Dates of Coverage: 1500 - 1950
Early English Books Online
Includes full-text of English language books printed in the British Isles between 1473 and 1700.
Dates of Coverage: 1473 - 1700
Resources to help with research and writing