Start Here - HIST 1050-02 - Invitation to History: The Automobile in North America

Search the library

Oxford Reference
Provides full-text access to information and background articles about every topic from across Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias.

Dates of Coverage: Various
Canadian Encyclopedia
General information about a huge range of Canadian topics. Available in French and English.

Internet Archive - Automobile Travel
A collection of freely available online historical documents related to automobile travel, including travel guides, road map books, and more, spanning the 19th and 20th centuries.
Early Automobile Companies Ephemera Collection
Online materials from early automobile companies, published between 1910 and 1932, including advertising and marketing brochures, maps, guides and general information about automobiles.

Leisure, Travel and Mass Culture: the History of Tourism
This collection charts the growth of leisure travel over the past two hundred years, using primary source materials from a wealth of international archives, including the unique archives of Thomas Cook, the world’s best known travel agency and a pioneer of tourism for the masses.

Dates of Coverage: 1850 - 1980
Canadian Newsstream

Contains full-text newspaper articles, columns, editorials, and features from over 275 Canadian newspapers, dating from the late 1970s to the present.

Dates of Coverage: Late 1970's - Current
Maclean's Magazine Archives
Provides full-text pdf copies of the entire contents of Maclean's Magazine from 1905-2015. Topics include investigative reporting, opinion and analysis on politics, economy and business, science and technology, society, arts and culture, education and work.