Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Tri-Agency Open Access Policy

What is the Tri-Agency Open Access Policy?

  • Recipients of grants from NSERC, SSHRC, & CIHR “are required to ensure that any peer-reviewed journal publications arising from Agency-supported research are freely accessible within 12 months of publication.”
  • The Tri-Agency Open Access Policy on Publications applies to all partially or fully funded research.
  • This applies to NSERC & SSHRC grants awarded May 1, 2015 and later.
  • For CIHR grants, this applies to those awarded January 1, 2008 and later.
  • The Principal Investigator is responsible for ensuring compliance to this policy.

How can you comply with the Tri-Agency Open Access Policy?

  • Recipients of a tri-agency grant can choose to either deposit their article in:
    • an online repository or
    • publish in an open access journal.

Option 1: Open Access Repositories

  • Open access repositories manage and preserve content which is freely accessible to everyone.
  • Depositing your peer-reviewed paper in an institutional repository (such as the University of Guelph’s Atrium) will fulfil this grant requirement.
  • Disciplinary specific repositories also fit this requirement.  OpenDOAR provides a searchable list of open access repositories.
  • The researcher is responsible for ensuring that the publishing contract for the peer-reviewed article allows for the post-print (the final version of the article, post-refereeing) to be made open access within 12 months of publication. 

Option 2: Journals

  • Publishing in an open access journal fulfils the policy’s requirements.  The Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) provides a searchable list of open access journals.
  • Publishing in a traditional journal is permitted, so long as the post-print version is made open access within 12 months of publication.  
  • The SHERPA/RoMEO database provides the copyright and archiving policies of various journal publishers.

Additional resources: Tri-Agency Open Access Policy

Resources to Help with Research and Writing

Video: Asking Questions to Explore Your TopicGuide: Write an annotated bibliographyGuide: Cite Your Sources Chicago Notes Bibliograph

Suggest an edit to this guide

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.