Legal information includes both primary and secondary materials.
Primary legal information includes statutes, cases, regulations, government bills and constitutional documents.
Secondary legal information includes law review articles, legal encyclopedia, legal periodicals, handbooks, treatises and loose leafs.
Legal information is useful to contextualize and solve legal problems, and answer questions about the law.
How do I find legal information?
Using Primo Books + can provide a good place to start when doing legal research.
Journal articles will provide more detailed information on specific legal topics.
Canadian legislation at the federal, provincial and municipal level can be useful and includes bills, statutes and regulations.
When dealing with legislative information, you might find that some items use alternative names. These include Parliamentary Debates (Hansard), Statutes (Acts or Laws) and Regulations (Statutory Instruments or Rules or Subordinate Legislation).
The working documents of the British government for all areas of social, political, economic, and foreign policy. Includes Bills, Reports of Royal Commissions, Reports of Select Committees, Accounts and Papers and other materials. Coverage: 18th century (1688-1834) and 19th century (1801-1900).
Full-text access to over 5,500 public international case law reports (international/domestic/ad hoc tribunals) including each decision, headnote, as well as analytical commentary and translations. Coverage: 1812 - Current.