Start Here - HIST 2240 - Women, War and Nation - Guides at University of Guelph

Search the library

The Oxford Handbook of Gender and Conflict (eBook) by Ní Aoláin, F, et al
Publication Date: 2017
Great starting point for exploring topics on gender and war.

Oxford Reference
Provides full-text access to information and background articles about every topic from across Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias.
Dates of Coverage: Various

Women's Studies International
Find journal articles, books, and other sources on topics in women’s studies and scholarship in feminist research
Dates of Coverage: 1972 - Current
GenderWatch
Contains primarily full-text journal articles, magazines, newsletters, pamphlets, reports, papers, and proceedings related to women’s and gender studies.
Dates of Coverage: 1930 - Current
America: History and Life
The major index to the history literature of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
Subject Matter Timeframe: 19th Century- Current
Dates of Coverage: 1954 - Current
Historical Abstracts
Indexes the worldwide literature (excluding the United States and Canada) for history from 1450 to the present. Includes journals, books and dissertations.
Subject Matter Timeframe: 1450 - Current
Dates of Coverage: 1955 - Current

First World War: Personal Experiences
Contains digitized images from the First World War, including personal narratives, books, sheet music, and photographs. Also includes scholarly essays and interactive maps.
Subject Matter Timeframe: 1914 - 1918
Canadian Letters and Images Project
An online archive of the Canadian war experience that includes digitized letters, diaries, photographs, and other related materials.
Subject Matter Coverage: Canadian War Experiences
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000
Covers the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000. The collection includes document projects, archives (with notes), teaching tools and book, film and website reviews.
Subject Matter Timeframe: 1600 - 2000
Rise Up: A Digital Archive of Feminist Activism
Online collection of documents produced in feminist activism in Canada between 1970 and 1990. Includes pamphlets, newsletters, films, posters, and much more.
Dates of Coverage: 1970- 1990
North American Women's Letters and Diaries, Colonial to 1950
Full-text access to primary source materials documenting women's experiences in North America for over 300 years.
Dates of Coverage: Colonialism - 1950
Defining Gender
Contains books, diaries, pamphlets, government papers, letters, illustrated drawings, poetry, literary works, and other materials dealing with the study of gender from 1450-1910.
Dates of Coverage: 1465 - 1917