Guides: Create Video & Audio Clips: Start Here

Why make video clips?

Make short clips from our streaming media resources to enhance teaching and presentations. These can be used in classroom teaching, CourseLink, tutorials, presentations.
For assistance in creating video clips and linking them in the ARES reserve system and CouresLink, please contact the library.

To create clips, you will have to create a user account on the vendor's platform.
Not all vendors provide the functionality for making video clips and playlists, but the collections linked below have the functionality to make video clips and playlists.
To view clips that others have made, ensure that you are logged in from off-campus.

Curio.ca
Educational content and documentaries from CBC and Radio-Canada.
Dates of Coverage: 1990's - Current
Technical Requirements: Access code required to create an account
NFB ONF National Film Board of Canada
Online streaming service to over than 5,800 English and French of the NFB/ONF's documentaries, animation, interactive resources and movies or short films from Canadian filmmakers.
Dates of Coverage: 1928 - Current (updated weekly)

NFB Access Key
This will provide the access code needed to create an NFB educational account.

Films on Demand
A multi-disciplinary digital library of educational and topical videos with over 6,000 titles. Users can make customized clips for teaching or presentation purposes.
Dates of Coverage: 20th Century - Current
Kanopy
Kanopy provides a curated selection of streaming videos, including documentaries and feature films, chosen by our faculty for educational purposes. Access is provided only for titles that have been specifically requested by faculty and licensed for their courses.
Dates of Coverage: 2007 - Current
Docuseek
Streaming versions of over 500 documentary and social issues films and videos.
Dates of Coverage: 1900 - Current
PBS Video Collection
Documentary films and series from PBS. Titles relating to history, science and technology, diversity studies, business, and current events.
Dates of Coverage: Varies

Veterinary Education in Video
A clinical skills resource for veterinary science, with explanations of conditions, and training on technology and animal handling for over 500 procedures.
Dates of Coverage: 2007 - Current
Environmental Studies in Video
Videos on environmental studies topics in the areas of ethics, policy, economics, law, sociology, planning, and environmental science.
Dates of Coverage: 1970 - Current
Sports Medicine and Exercise Science in Video
Videos featuring experts in the areas of fitness and health assessment, disease management, injury treatment, nutrition, medical fitness, sport science, work-site wellness, exercise adherence, and much more.
Dates of Coverage: 2009 - 2014

American History in Video
Hundreds of historical documentaries, as well as the complete series of United Newsreel and Universal Newsreel. Coverage of major events and important people.
Dates of Coverage: 1890 - Current
Digital Theatre Plus
A streaming video collection of recent British theatrical productions (Shakespeare, classics, new writing, musicals, dance, and opera).
Theatre in Video: Volume I
Brings together hundreds of the world’s most important plays, documentaries, instructional materials, and interviews with writers, directors, actors and designers covering a wide range of 20th century theatre history.
Subject Matter Timeframe: 20th Century

Music Online: Classical Music Library
Contains tens of thousands of licensed recordings that are cross-referenced with program notes, composer biographies, glossary terms, and historical context.
Subject Matter Timeframe: Medieval - Modern
Dates of Coverage: 500 A.D. - Current
Music Online: Jazz Music Library
The largest and most comprehensive collection of streaming jazz available online — with thousands of jazz artists, ensembles, albums, and genres.
Dates of Coverage: 20th and 21st Centuries
Naxos Music Library
Offers streaming access to more than a million tracks of world, folk and pop/rock music with a heavy emphasis on classical music. Download the app from the website to play music on your phone.
Dates of Coverage: Circa 1150 - Current (updated monthly)
Music Online: Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries
An encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions. Includes over 35,000 tracks of world music, spoken word, and natural and human-made sounds.
Dates of Coverage: Varies