Skip to Main Content
Ask Us: Chat, email, visit or call
The library offers a range of helpful services. All of our appointments are free of charge and confidential.
Find Background Information
General information about a huge range of Canadian topics. Available in French and English.
Find Scholarly Secondary Sources
America: History and Life
The major index to the history literature of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
Subject Matter Timeframe: 19th Century- Current
Dates of Coverage: 1954 - Current
Full-text coverage of newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Includes some scholarly writing.
Dates of Coverage: 1990 - Current
Ethnic NewsWatch: A History: 1959 - 1989
Ethnic NewsWatch: 1990 - Current
Find Historical Newspapers
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Globe and Mail
Scanned full text of this Canadian national newspaper, including articles, editorials, advertisements, classified ads, photos, editorial cartoons, etc.
Dates of Coverage: 1844 -
Most recent 3 years not available
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Toronto Star
Digitized version of the Toronto Star newspaper from 1894 to 2016.
Our Ontario Community Newspaper Collection
Digital scans for 45 Ontario newspapers, including abolitionist newspapers from the 1850s.
Dates of Coverage: 1838 - Current (coverage varies by title)
Contains full-text newspaper articles, columns, editorials, and features from over 275 Canadian newspapers, dating from the late 1970s to the present.
Dates of Coverage: Late 1970's - Current
Find Other Primary Sources
Canadiana Discovery Portal
Provides broad access to Canada's documentary heritage. Comprised of two main databases: Early Canadiana Online and Canadiana Discovery Portal.
Dates of Coverage: 1600's - Current
Resources to help with your seminar