Home - CTS 2010 - Digital Approaches to Culture - Guides at University of Guelph

Search the library

Oxford Reference
Provides full-text access to information and background articles about every topic from across Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias.
Dates of Coverage: Various
Oxford Handbooks Online
Over 700 handbooks books covering subject areas in the humanities and social science, which provide critical examinations and overviews of progress and debates existing on topics and events.
Dates of Coverage: Varies
Routledge Handbooks Online
Provides an overview of classic and current research and future trends in the social sciences and humanities.
Dates of Coverage: Varies

Web of Science
A good, general cross-displinary search tool for searching across scholarly publications related to science and technology studies. Includes publications from the sciences, social science, and the arts.
Dates of Coverage: 1864 - Current
Historical Abstracts
A good tool for searching for scholarly writing on the historical aspects of science and technology. Covers history since 1450, but excludes North American history topics.
Subject Matter Timeframe: 1450 - Current
Dates of Coverage: 1955 - Current
America: History and Life
A good tool for searching for scholarly writing on the historical aspects of science and technology in North American contexts.
Subject Matter Timeframe: 19th Century- Current
Dates of Coverage: 1954 - Current
Women's Studies International
Covers topics in women’s studies and scholarship in feminist research. Sources include journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, web information, and grey literature.
Dates of Coverage: 1972 - Current