Use this link to register for a free WeVideo account through our educational license. Please note that accounts, and all their contents, are deleted at the end of every semester.
6 Principles for scriptwriting + storyboarding
1. Identify your story
What does it mean?
Identify the tension of your story to create a hook and draw the audience in
What’s unique? What is your perspective?
Strategies/Resources
Research your topic
Listen/Watch examples
2. Determine the plot points
What does it mean?
Beginning, middle and end/resolution
Points have a logical order and flow that build.
Target the plot points to audience
Strategies/Resources
Script and storyboard planning
Background research
3. Organize and structure with intention
What does it mean?
Organize your piece so that it is presented in a way that’s understandable and effective
Technical aspects of writing – intro, conclusion, how to start paragraphs
How you present the visuals and audio that is beneficial for the audience
Strategies/Resources
Scripting and editing
Present it to someone who doesn’t know – does it make sense? Not just compelling.
Pacing, practice, and storyboard
4. Words should flow
What does it mean?
Tone + vocabulary (conversational vs academic)
Consistent theme
Do you stumble over certain phrases? Does it sound awkward or strange?
What is the pacing like?
Strategies/Resources
Practice reading aloud or record it a listen to yourself
Make note in the script as cues to yourself
5. Feedback is best practice
What does it mean?
Other people can share their experience.
Easier to change before its recorded
Is it engaging? Does it make sense?
Strategies/Resources
Read it aloud to a friend (or get them to read it to you!)
Give them things to look for
Ask questions
6. Create a world for your audience
What does it mean?
Script + sound + visuals work together to create a specific experience
Audience can connect with and understand the experience you are trying to create
Provides full-text access to information and background articles about every topic from across Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias.
Abstracts and indexes of the International literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Includes journal articles, book reviews, abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.
A multi-disciplinary social sciences database for family and child studies. Contains journals articles, books, conference proceedings, websites, government reports, and working papers.
