Guides: Find Theses & Dissertations: Start Here

What are theses & dissertations?

Theses and dissertations are scholarly essays incorporating original research on a topic to acquire professional qualifications within an academic degree.
Theses and dissertations are usually written as part of the requirements for a graduate or postgraduate degree.

Theses Canada
Provides free access to Canadian electronic theses and dissertations, and facilitates access to non-digital theses and dissertations.
Dates of Coverage: 1965 - Current

(temporarily suspended thesis harvesting from university institutional repositories in order for technological improvements to be made to its systems)

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I
Contains the index and full-text for over 2 million doctoral and master's theses completed at accredited North American and select European universities, from 1743 onwards.
Dates of Coverage: 1743 - Current

Find microform or paper versions of theses catalogued in Omni.
Search by author, title, keyword, or department with the phrase: "University of Guelph thesis”.
A paper copy of all theses published between 1966 and 2011 is held in Annex storage
To use the paper copy of a thesis published between 1966 and 2011 in the Library, place a hold on the Annex copy
A paper copy of all theses published prior to 1966 is held in Archives and Special Collections
Pre-1966 theses are non-circulating and can only be used in the Archival and Special Collections Reading Room during regular opening hours

1965 to present

Theses Canada
Provides free access to Canadian electronic theses and dissertations, and facilitates access to non-digital theses and dissertations.
Dates of Coverage: 1965 - Current

(temporarily suspended thesis harvesting from university institutional repositories in order for technological improvements to be made to its systems)

1861 to present

Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD)
Search NDLTD for predominantly North American content.
National Library of Australia's Trove Service
Search the National Library of Australia’s Trove Service for Australian and New Zealand dissertations.
dissertations.se
English ETDs from Sweden.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I
Contains the index and full-text for over 2 million doctoral and master's theses completed at accredited North American and select European universities, from 1743 onwards.
Dates of Coverage: 1743 - Current
Open Access Theses and Dissertations
Indexes and provides access to electronic theses and dissertations that are freely available.
Dates of Coverage: Varies

Interlibrary Loan
To borrow a thesis, search Omni to see if a circulating copy is available from another Omni library.
Omni Request Form
Use this form if you’re unable to find a thesis in Omni.

Dissertation Express
If the title you want is not available on loan, purchase a copy online through Dissertation Express. The purchase is not subsidised by the Library.