Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Manage Your Sources: Mendeley

Always Check Your Citations

Citation managers don't always format citations perfectly. Remember to check your citations for missing or inaccurate information and formatting.

How do I download and install Mendeley?

  1. Visit the Mendeley website and click the Create a free account button. You need:
    • Your name.
    • Email.
    • Password.
      • Enter your email and password carefully as there is no confirmation and this will be your login information.
    • Current role (optional)
    • Field of study (optional)
    • Note: you will be given the option to create a public profile on Mendeley. If you don't want your profile to be public, be sure to deselect the bullet for that option.
  2. Download Mendeley Desktop:
    • You can access the download by clicking the drop down menu beside your initials in the top right hand corner, selecting Download and then following the given instructions.
    • You can also access the download in the bottom right hand corner of the Mendeley web page under Downloads > Reference Manager.
    • Supports Windows 7, 8.1 or 10, macOS 10.10, 10.11, 10.12, 10.13, Linux, and Mendeley for iPhone, iPod Touch and iPad via the Apple App Store.
  3. Install reference Plug-in for Microsoft Word:
    • A prompt will appear once you open the Mendeley desktop application asking you to install the reference Plugin for Microsoft Word, select Install now or look under the Tools menu in the application menu.
    • Fully compatible with Word, including for Mac and Windows, and Libre Office.
  4. Install the Web Importer for Mendeley:
    • In the desktop app, select Tools > Install Web Importer, which will open up a new webpage in your browser. 
    • You can also access the Web Importer download in the bottom right hand corner of a Mendeley web page under Downloads > Web Importer.
    • For Chrome and Firefox, click Get Web Importer for [browser name] which will direct you to add the extension.
    • Supports Chrome and Firefox only.

How do I add a reference from Omni (without Web Importer)?

  1. Go to the UoG Library homepage and type a search into the Omni box (the main search box).
  2. Locate the resource you would like to add to your library and click on the three dots to the right of the title.
  3. You should see multiple options for exporting the citation.Select the option for Export BibTex.
  4. Select the Encoding option UTF-8, click Download and select a folder on your computer to save the file to.
  5. Open Mendeley Desktop. Click File > Import and select the downloaded .bib file to add its contents to your Mendeley library.
  • To see all of the references you've added in both the desktop and web versions of Mendeley, you will need to sync your library. You can do this by selecting the "Sync" button, which is the icon with the two arrows in a circle.
  • Always review your references to make sure all of the information is accurate and complete.

How do I add a reference from Omni (with Web Importer)?

  1. Go to the UoG Library homepage and type a search into the Omni box (the main search box).
  2. To save multiple references from your search results, select the Mendeley button beside your web address bar. 
  3. Sign into your Mendeley account if prompted to do so. A right sidebar will appear with all of the detected search results, allowing you to Select all or the few references you want to import.
  4. You can select a folder or group destination if you wish, and then select Add. If you do not select a location the reference will be added to All Documents. All new imports can be found under Recently Added.
  5. Please note that Mendeley may not detect all of the results within Omni using this function.
  • To see all of the references you've added in both the desktop and web versions of Mendeley, you will need to sync your library. You can do this by selecting the Sync button, which is the icon with the two arrows in a circle.
  • Always review your references to make sure all of the information is accurate and complete. 

How do I add a reference when viewing the resource's page?

  1. Make sure you've selected your resource from your list of results (or have directly accessed the page using other methods).
  2. Click the Mendeley icon at the end of the address bar and a box will appear with the title and other resource information.
  3. Before you click + Add to Mendeley:
    • You can select the resource, then "Edit" to edit the resource information directly in your browser before downloading.
    • You may also be given the option to select Related Papers for download. Select any references you wish to add before clicking + Add to Mendeley.
      • Often these resources are a selection of sources cited in the paper you are viewing.
  4. Click + Add to Mendeley to download the reference.
  5. To view your new reference(s) in the Mendeley Desktop, you may need to click the Sync button located in the top menu of the desktop application.
  6. The new reference will appear under All Documents.

How do I add a reference from an online database?

  1. Make sure you are on a search results page.
  2. Click on the Mendeley icon at the end of the address bar and a box will appear with the titles of the resources from your current page of results.
  3. Select the resource(s) that you would like to download a reference for and click + Add to Mendeley.
    • You can also select Add PDFs if available. If you select this feature Mendeley will download a PDF of the resource to your library along with a reference if there is a PDF available.
  4. If it has successfully imported a green checkmark will appear.
  5. To view your new reference in the Mendeley Desktop, you may need to click the Sync button. It is located in the top menu of the desktop application.
  6. The new reference will appear under All Documents.
  7. Always verify that all of the information was imported accurately and completely.

How do I add a reference from Google Scholar?

  • Make sure you are signed into your Mendeley web plug-in account.
  • Perform a search in google scholar.
  • Click on the Mendeley icon at the end of the address bar and a box will appear with the titles of the resources from your current page of results.
  • Select the resource(s) that you would like to download a reference for and click + Add to Mendeley.
    • You can also select Add PDFs if available. If you select this feature Mendeley will download a PDF of the resource to your library along with a reference if there is a PDF available.
  • If it has successfully imported a green checkmark will appear.
  • To view your new reference in the Mendeley Desktop, you may need to click the Sync button. It is located in the top menu of the desktop application.
  • The new reference will appear under All Documents.
  • Always verify that all of the information was imported accurately and completely.

How do I add references from Web of Science?

  1. Search in Web of Science Core Collection. Select the references you would like to add to your Mendeley library by clicking the boxes on the left side in the Web of Science result list.
  2. At the top of the page, go to the Export... menu and choose Other File Formats.
  3. A box will open. Leave the Record Content box as Author, Title, Source, Abstract. Then select BibTeX from the File Format dropdown menu. 
  4. Click Export.
  5. In Mendeley, click Add Files. Select the file from the downloads folder.
  6. Your references will be imported into your All Documents folder. Check them to make sure all of the information is accurate and complete.

How do I add a reference from PsycNET?

  1. ​Search in PsycNET. Select the references that you would like to import into your library by clicking the boxes on the left side in the PsycNET result list.
  2. Click Export at the top of the page. 
    • There is an option for a direct export to Mendeley. You will be prompted to login to your Mendeley account. However, this method does not appear to work all the time. 
    • Select Reference Software to download a file.
  3. In Mendeley, click the dropdown menu for Add and select Add Files.
  4. Select the PsycNET file and click Open. Your citations should appear in your library.
  5. Always verify that your citations were imported correctly. 

How do I add a reference from a PDF?

  1. Drag and drop PDFs into Mendeley and it will automatically search for the reference information.
  2. If fields are incorrect or missing, you can edit the reference directly by typing the information into the box along the right hand sidebar.
  3. Check to make sure all of the information is accurate and complete.

How do I add a reference manually?

  1. Open Mendeley Desktop.
  2. Click the arrow beside the Add icon in the top menu and select Add Entry Manually.
  3. Choose the appropriate resource type from the drop-down menu. 
  4. Fill in the fields. For some fields, click below the headings and a box to type your entry will appear.
  5. Click Save when finished.

How do I create a folder?

  1. Open Mendeley Desktop and click the Folders icon with the + icon.
  2. "Create Folder" will be highlighted in the list along the left hand side bar or Untitled Folder will appear in the list along the left hand side bar. Click on Create Folder or Untitled Folder to give the new folder a name.
  3. You can create folders and subfolders to organize your references.
  4. To add references to your folders and subfolders, click and drag the desired references into the chosen folders.

How do I insert citations and bibliographies into Word?

  1. Open a Word Document and select the References tab. You should see a mention of Mendeley or the Mendeley logo.
  2. Place your cursor where you want to insert a citation and then select Insert or Edit Citation from the References menu.
  3. If you know the title or the author of the reference, you can search in the search box. Or you can Go To Mendeley to open up Mendeley Desktop and select the reference then click Cite within the Mendeley Desktop platform.
  4. To change your citation style, select the style from the drop-down menu on the References menu in Word.
  5. To edit your citation to include page numbers, select your citation and then click Insert or Edit Citation on the References menu which reopens the citation search box.
  6. By selecting the original citation, more options will appear below, including an option to add page numbers.
  7. Once you have finished editing, hit OK.
  8. To create a bibliography, click the spot in the document where you would like to add the bibliography, and click Insert Bibliography in the References menu.
  9. A bibliography will appear that includes all the citations in your document. It will be formatted according to the citation Style in the References menu.
    • Note that if you add any further citations to your document, your bibliography will be automatically updated.
  • Make sure to double check your citations and bibliographies manually.

How do I find and delete duplicate citations?

  1. Select the folder you want to check, or select All Documents to check all of your citations across folders.
  2. Click Tools and then Check for Duplicates.
  3. The duplicates will be listed and you will be asked to confirm by clicking Confirm Merge on the right hand sidebar.
  4. If there are no duplicates, a yellow box will appear at the top of the middle box that says "No duplicates found in [selected folder]".
  • Mendeley also provides a "Confidence" rating to help you determine whether or not the references are duplicates.

How do I add an attachment to a reference?

  • Mendeley allows you to add multiple attachments to a reference.
  1. Click on a reference in your library.
  2. Look at the right-hand panel which contains the document details and scroll down to the Files field.
  3. Click Add File....
  4. A window with your computer's files will open, select the document you would like to attach and click Open.

How do I share references?

  1. Open Mendeley Desktop, locate the Groups header in your menu on the left.
  2. Click on Create Group....
  3. You will see a group creation form. You can set the name, a description, and the privacy level of the group. When satisfied select Create group.
  4. Once done, you can select your newly created shared collection on the left, and then click the Edit Settings button above the centre column. Check that you are signed in on the Mendeley website, then return to Mendeley Desktop and click on the link in "Additional group settings can be found here." On the group page, you can edit the details of the group, including name, description, weblink, and group images, and categorize the group with disciplines.
  5. On the group page, you can select the Members tab and from here you can manage your group's members and invitations.
  6. You can add references to your group's documents the same way you would add references to your own library.

How do I edit a reference?

  1. It is always good to review the reference information when you import a new citation.
  2. Click on the citation and the information will appear in a box along the right hand side of the screen. Click the field you wish to edit and it will reveal a box.
  3. Correct any errors, add notes under the Notes tab, and then click away. Your edits will automatically save.

How do I create tags?

  • Mendeley allows you to create tags for references.
  1. Click on a reference in your Mendeley Desktop library.
  2. Look at the right-hand panel which contains the reference details and scroll down to the Tags field.
  3. Click under the Tags heading and it will reveal a box. Type in your tags with semi-colons in between them.
  4. To look up references with a specific tag, locate Filter by Authors on the left-hand menu. Click on this for a drop-down list and select Filter by My Tags. Choose a tag and you will see the references with that tag.
    • Note that you need to be in the All Documents window before filtering to see all the tags.

Suggest an edit to this guide

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.