Guides: Find Geospatial Data: More Geospatial Data

Find geospatial data on the open web

Many organizations make large collections of geospatial and other types of data available for free download online. However, it can be challenging to find these collections. Try these strategies for finding geospatial data on the open web:

Think about what kind of organization collects the data you are looking for. Data that is international in scope may be collected by an international agency like the United Nations, while data at the city level may be collected by the city government. Search the organization’s website with a phrase like “data download” if you can’t find an obvious link to data on the homepage.
Search a portal. Portals strive to be one-stop-shops for whatever kind of data they specialize in.

Google
Use Google to search for datasets by typing appropriate keywords along with GIS, data download, shapefile, .shp, and/or another word that describes your desired data format (like KML). For example, find Canadian soil datasets by typing the following into Google: Canada soil data shapefile.

World Environment Situation Room Data (United Nations)
Access publications, statistics, and geospatial data from the UN Environment Programme.

Top picks: Canadian data

Ontario

Canadian GIS & Geomatics
Site contains links to Canadian Federal/Provincial/Municipal GIS data sources, kept current by people in the Geomatics Industry.
GeoGratis
Canadian geospatial data including maps, data, and publications to use without restriction.
Geography Network
Free Canadian geospatial, datasets, live maps, and downloadable data from several Canadian providers
Geoscience Data Repository
Collection of earth sciences geoscience databases available in downloadable format
Open Government Canada
Open Data and datasets about Government of Canada services, maps, demographics, financial information.
Ontario Topographical Maps
Create topographical maps of any part of Ontario including natural features (lakes, forests) or man-made features (roads, parks, place names, municipal boundaries).
Land Information Ontario (LIO)
Find, access and share geographic information for Ontario such as roads, railways, lakes, wetlands, elevation, official names and boundaries
Grand River Information Network (GRIN)
Free geospatial datasets, maps and monitoring of stream flow, water quality, meteorological conditions in GRCA.
Ontario Open Data
Open datasets covering topics such as arts, culture, business, economy, climate change, driving and roads, education and training, environment and energy, government, health and wellness, education, jobs and employment, law and safety, rural and north and many more
Ontario Base Maps
Ontario Base Maps available free from Geography Network Canada.Files available in various formats such as shapefiles or AutoCAD. Additional ability to create maps.
Ontario Watershed Information Tool (OWIT)
OFAT is used to better understand water flow in Ontario. Make watershed maps and calculate flow and stream characteristics using this tool.
Ontario Open Data
Open datasets covering topics such as arts, culture, business, economy, climate change, driving and roads, education and training, environment and energy, government, health and wellness, education, jobs and employment, law and safety, rural and north and many more

Quebec

Données Ouvertes
Quebec government’s Open Data portal. Over 900 free geospatial datasets in areas such a transportation, government, health, social policy, environment, natural resources, energy, agriculture and food, and several others. Website is in French only.

Nova Scotia

GeoNOVA
Nova Scotia's gateway to geographic information. Provides shared access to authoritative geographic data, maps & geographic information applications.

New Brunswick

GeoNB
New Brunswick's gateway to geographic information. Provides shared access to authoritative geographic data, maps & geographic information applications.

Newfoundland and Labrador

Government of Newfoundland and Labrador's Website-Geospatial Data
Some geospatial data is available on the Government of Newfoundland and Labrador’s website. Search ʺdata downloadʺ

Prince Edward Island

Manitoba

Manitoba Land Initiative
This portal makes available a variety of geospatial datasets from the Government of Manitoba for free download.Web site allows on-line access to the MLI corporate land data warehouse

Saskatchewan

Access Geographic Information for the Province of Saskatchewan
Find and access Saskatchewan GIS data, access to information, maps and web mapping applications in several areas such as earth images, environment, geology, mining, water, biodiversity, wildlife

Alberta

GeoDiscover Alberta
Mapping data and geospatial data for farming, biota, boundaries, climate, economy, elevation, environment, geology/soil, health, imagery/map, military, water

British Columbia

DataBC
This is the Government of British Columbia’s Open Data portal. Search the data catalogue to find a variety of free downloadable geospatial datasets.

Yukon

Geomatics Yukon
GeoYukon is Yukon Government's site that provides free spatial data and imagery

Nunavut

Top picks: American data

Geo.Data.Gov (US Government Open Data)
US Government open data, tools, resources for agriculture, climate, consumer ecosystems, education, energy, finance, health, local government, manufacturing, maritime, ocean, public safety, science & research

Top picks: International data

UK Ordnance Survey (OS) Open Data
Ordnance Survey is the United Kingdom's national mapping agency. This website provides access to a variety of free mapping tools and UK geospatial datasets.
Geoscience Australia
Access to free Australian geospatial datasets. Search Geoscience Australia's extensive catalogue of data, publications, online tools, maps and videos.
Data.govt.nz
Data.govt.nz helps people discover and use open data; empowering decision making, and problem-solving for citizens and businesses.

Users can search for and download thousands of freely usable datasets released by New Zealand Government organisations, as well as finding out about how to use, release open data effectively.
World Environment Situation Room Data (United Nations)
Access publications, statistics, and geospatial data from the UN Environment Programme.
US Socioeconomic Data and Applications Center (SEDAC)
Datasets, maps and mapping tools available from SEDAC covering topics such as agriculture, climate, conservation, governance, hazards, health, infrastructure, land use, marine and coastal, poverty, sustainability, water
Atlas of the Biosphere
Free download of a variety of geospatial datasets showing global human impacts, land use, ecosystems, and water resources. GIS, remote sensing, spatial & hydrology data

Find Geospatial Data

Ask Us: Chat, email, visit or call

Get assistance