Skip to Main Content
Ask Us: Chat, email, visit or call
The library offers a range of helpful services. All of our appointments are free of charge and confidential.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
A bibliography of music literature providing international coverage of Western and Eastern classical, pop, folk, and jazz music, as well as interdisciplinary studies on music.
Dates of Coverage: 1967 - Current
Academic Search Premier
Dates of Coverage: 1975 - Current
Subject Matter Timeframe: 1930 - Current Google Scholar
A search engine for articles, theses and reports produced by academic publishers, universities, and preprint depositories
Dates of Coverage: All Time Periods
America: History and Life
The major index to the history literature of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
Subject Matter Timeframe: 19th Century- Current
Dates of Coverage: 1954 - Current Historical Abstracts
Indexes the worldwide literature (excluding the United States and Canada) for history from 1450 to the present. Includes journals, books and dissertations.
Subject Matter Timeframe: 1450 - Current
Dates of Coverage: 1955 - Current Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database (CBCA)
Interdisciplinary index to Canadian academic journals, news and popular magazines, and newspapers. Subject terms include: Black Canadians, African Canadians, Caribbean Canadians, Blacks, Black Culture, Black History, Black Literature, Black students, Black studies.
Dates of Coverage: 1971 - Current
Find audio recordings
Naxos Music Library
From classical to pop.
Dates of Coverage: Circa 1150 - Current (updated monthly)
Find background information
NFB ONF National Film Board of Canada
Online streaming access to over 2000 of the NFB/ONF's documentaries, animation, and movies or short films from Canadian filmmakers.
Dates of Coverage: 1928 - Current (updated weekly)
Technical Requirements: Access key required to create an account
NFB Access Key
This will provide the access code needed to create an NFB educational account.
Find historical newspapers
The Times Digital Archive, 1785-2014
An online archive of every headline, article, editorial, announcement, image and advertisement published in The Times (London).
Dates of Coverage: 1785 - 2014
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Globe and Mail
Scanned full text of this Canadian national newspaper, including articles, editorials, advertisements, classified ads, photos, editorial cartoons, etc.
Dates of Coverage: 1844 -
Most recent 3 years not available
Resources to help with research in media