Skip to Main Content
Ask Us: Chat, email, visit or call
Video: Find Freely Licensed Media to use in Your Digital Project
The library offers a range of helpful services. All of our appointments are free of charge and confidential.
Find background information
Oxford Music Online
Includes articles on composers, performers, conductors, instruments and notation, forms and genres, and individual works. Includes Grove Music Online.
Dates of Coverage: Various
Music Online: The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music
A comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the world’s peoples. More than 9,000 pages of material and 300 audio recordings, combined with entries by more than 700 expert contributors from all over the world, make this the most complete body of work focused on world music.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
A bibliography of music literature providing international coverage of Western and Eastern classical, pop, folk, and jazz music, as well as interdisciplinary studies on music.
Dates of Coverage: 1967 - Current
Canadian Music Periodical Index
Contains indexed journal, newspaper, and magazine articles published by Canadian music resources as well as those that deal with various aspects of music in Canada. Coverage is from the late 19th century to the present day.
Subject Matter Timeframe: Late 19th Century - Current
Find audio recordings
Music Online: Classical Music Library
Contains tens of thousands of licensed recordings that are cross-referenced with program notes, composer biographies, glossary terms, and historical context.
Subject Matter Timeframe: Medieval - Modern
Dates of Coverage: 500 A.D. - Current Naxos Music Library
Offers streaming access to more than a million tracks of world, folk and pop/rock music with a heavy emphasis on classical music. Download the app from the website to play music on your phone.
Dates of Coverage: Circa 1150 - Current (updated monthly)
Jazz Music Library
The largest and most comprehensive collection of streaming jazz available online — with thousands of jazz artists, ensembles, albums, and genres.
Dates of Coverage: 20th and 21st Centuries
Music Online: Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries
An encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions. Includes over 35,000 tracks of world music, spoken word, and natural and human-made sounds.
Dates of Coverage: Varies
Music Online: Classical Scores Library
Includes all major classical musical genres and time periods from the Middle Ages to the 21st century. Contains full, study, piano, and vocal scores.
Subject Matter Timeframe: Middle Ages -21st Century
Dates of Coverage: 500 A.D. - Current
Resources to help with managing your project