Our collections hold rare and unique items which are primary resources (hyperlink to definition) for research.
Types of primary sources can include diaries, manuscripts, photographs, correspondence, interviews, some film and audiovisual materials, and artefacts among other items, depending on the nature of the research project.
Archives & Special Collections, Library, University of Guelph
How do I find Archival and Special Collection resources?
Archival & Special Collections is located on the second floor of the Library.
Materials can only be accessed in the Reading Room and may not be checked out.
We are open from 8:30 AM to 4:30 PM Monday, Tuesday, and Friday, 10:30 AM to 7:30 PM Wednesday and Thursday, and closed on weekends and holidays. Our hours change periodically. We suggest you check the University of Guelph Library website for current hours of operation.
Please bring a piece of photo identification (student/faculty card, driver’s license, etc.) to access the materials.licence, etc.) to access the materials.
You are welcome to bring laptops, digital cameras (no flash), and other materials for taking notes.
Please do not bring ink pens, food, or drink with you to the Reading Room. It is also a quiet space.;
Use the left side "Modify your results" to narrow in on archival materials under "U of G Location" by selecting "Archival & Special Collections".Use the left side "publication date" to select the time period you're looking for.
Dates of Coverage: Various
Visit the Archives: Finding Aids
While some of our finding aids can be accessed through catalogue records in Omni, many are not digitized and can only be accessed in the Reading Room.
Visit the Archives: Subject Specialist Reference Staff
We can help get you started.